Turkey in Turks

This Thanksgiving, A and I spent the holiday in Turks and Caicos with his dad and stepmom’s side of the family. Although it stormed for part of the trip in typical Caribbean fashion, we were able to enjoy a few days of sunshine and all-inclusive booze consumption, including Thanksgiving Day itself.

My favorite part of the trip was the walk A and I took off of the resort on Thanksgiving morning. We found ourselves on more isolated stretches of beach bordered by the beautiful, turquoise waters. I don’t think I’d ever seen water that deeply and brightly blue before, even though I’ve visited Jamaica and the Bahamas in the past. We even encountered a local who was painting the gorgeous scenery.

There are few more free feelings in the world than walking barefoot in the sand unencumbered in only a bikini and sunglasses. While I didn’t have my camera or anything else with me on this walk, I’ll always remember the blues of the water and taking a break to sit in the sea grass and watch the waves gently tumble in.

 

 

Leave a Reply

