Pizza for breakfast

I’m back! I’ve had quite the hiatus from writing here. Alex had ACL reconstruction surgery at the end of March and it was a very busy week or two following the procedure, juggling work and playing nurse. He’s doing great now, working hard at physical therapy to regain all the functionality he had in his leg. Even though I know this has been hard work for him, I’m selfishly enjoying having him home whenever I come back from work. 

In the time that I’ve been gone spring has finally arrived in New York. I’ve replaced my Uggs with my Toms for my morning commute and I can now comfortably walk to my evening exercise class in just a sweatshirt instead of a puffy jacket (or wimping out and taking the subway a little over a mile). Last weekend my friends and I decided to celebrate the better weather by picnicing in Central Park. I know we’re not REALLY adults yet because while our food came from Whole Foods and a local Hoboken grocer, our wine was from Duane Reade. We may have been a little overeager to enjoy the outdoors – it was still windy and only 53 – but we weren’t the only ones. Sheep’s Meadow was still closed for the off-season, but we were joined by many others on a hill overlooking the carousel and baseball diamond. 

Last night Alex and I ordered pizza and salad from my favorite place down here, An Underground Pizza. Not only do I think that this pizza is the best in the Financial District, I personally think it’s some of the best in Manhattan. The slices are huge, thin crust but not too thin, with delicious cheese and sauce and just the right amount of grease. I don’t normally rave about things in New York, but the pizza here is truly unparalleled for America. I’ll have to put together a good guide sometime – my visitors always want to taste authentic NY pizza and I tend to take them one of several different places. Of course, I couldn’t resist having some leftovers this morning. It’s always a good day when it begins with pizza for breakfast. 

 

Leave a Reply

