I’ve left my heart in so many places

This quote resonates so deeply with me. Having lived in many places during the different phases of my life, I’ve left behind pieces of my heart in each of them. My closest friends are scattered across the country – San Francisco, Los Angeles, Las Vegas, Scottsdale, New Orleans, Boston, Baltimore, New York, and my parents in Spokane. It’s a blessing that texting, calls, gchat, and social media allow me to keep in touch with them relatively well, but it makes me so sad to have to miss out on my friends’ special events. This past weekend one friend had her bridal shower and another celebrated her birthday, both in the Bay Area, and I wish I could have been there with them. Since I moved to the east coast and away from an area where my friends are concentrated I’ve been telling myself that it’ll get better – I’ve become closer with a few friends here in NY and I have Alex, and we want to move (back) to San Francisco down the line. But this weekend was the first time it really dawned on me that moving back to the Bay Area isn’t going to completely solve the problem. It’ll be amazing to be reunited with my friends from home, many of whom feel like family to me, and I will be extremely grateful for that. And I’ll be closer to my college friends in LA and Vegas so it will be easier to see them more often. But I’ll still encounter the same problem when it comes to my friends from law school, spread out across the east coast and south, and Alex’s family. It’s never going to end! For the rest of my life I’m going to be married to bicoastal plane trips, planning friend reunions, and having to choose what events I can attend and which I have to miss. This is what I get for leaving my heart in so many places and falling in love with a man who hails from clear across the country. The bright side of this, aside from having a ton of places to visit and open houses to crash at, is that many places feel like home. After all, home is where your loved ones are.

Leave a Reply

