Warmer Weekends

Happy Daylight Savings! New York was blessed with 58 (!!) degree weather again yesterday, which prompted Alex and I to have another day walking around the city. This time we focused on the East Village and Union Square and walked back home through the Lower East Side and Chinatown. I must say, I’m really digging our warmer weather tradition and hope that it continues. Anyway, our first stop was lunch with one of my coworkers and her bf at Bareburger. I really liked the restaurant because you can completely customize your burger, from meat to toppings to types of bacon. I tried bison for the first time and loved it! It didn’t hurt that there was a perfectly ripe 1/2 an avocado that topped it. They also offer other unusual burger meats, like elk, boar, and ostrich. I’ll definitely be back to try some of these other ones. The remainder of the afternoon was spent walking around and doing some shopping. I scored 2 dresses at the Union Square Nordstrom Rack, which was rare given that I usually don’t find much at this location. The exercise was much needed after Bareburger and our dinner on Friday night – we went out to a New Orleans themed restaurant with some friends, including two from law school, as a late Mardi Gras celebration. The food was better than expected, but of course not quite as authentic as back in Nola.

Sundays are typically devoted to exercise and errands. I decided to walk to and from my barre/hybrid workout class even though it was only 37 out because it was so sunny. Apparently I’ve begun alternating between being ridiculous when its slight cold out, bundling up in many layers and ignoring any fashion considerations, to dressing as if it’s much warmer than it is in some sort of wishful thinking. Today’s walk was done in cropped leggings, Uggs, and a sweatshirt which left a considerable patch of leg exposed between my shoes and pants. Next thing you know I’ll be one of those people who wears shorts out when the temps hit 40 that I’ve always made fun of. With any luck spring will be here soon and I won’t have to stoop down to that level.

Leave a Reply

