Baked Salmon

As I’ve mentioned before, I used to be very challenged in the culinary department. Back when I was in college one of my favorite places to shop, especially when my parents were in town and taking me, was Costco. Although most of the items I’d purchase fell decidedly into the unhealthy category, there was one item I always had to have that was surprisingly nutritious. That item was the salmon fillets with basil pesto butter that are ready to bake. The butter and the seasonings combined with the fatty fish come out moist and taste SO divine. Given the lack of storage space in our 700 square foot apartment we rarely find a need to go to Costco anymore, so my basil pesto butter salmon cravings go unchecked. However, I buy salmon fillets locally quite frequently, and though I have not yet tried to make the basil pesto butter (though I JUST acquired a food processor last Christmas so I will have to try it soon), I have developed my own recipe for salmon that is a winner. It requires much less butter, it’s super simple, and the cleanup is ridiculously easy.

Baked Salmon with Butter and Seasoning

  • .75 lb salmon fillets, cut into 4 pieces (it’s best to use wild salmon, but organic farmed will do)
  • .5 Tbsp butter
  • 1 Tbsp oregano
  • 1 Tbsp basil
  • 1 tsp parsley

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Cover a cookie sheet with aluminum foil and spray with Pam. Spread the 4 pieces of salmon out on the cookie sheet. Cut the butter into 4 slivers and place one sliver on top of each salmon piece and cover all pieces with the seasonings. Bake for 15 minutes, longer if the salmon is still visibly rare when you cut it open* (try another 3 minutes and check again). Serve with steamed vegetables and rice of your choice.

A tip: many fillets are much thicker on one side than the other. Try to cut the fillets so that you have thinner and thicker pieces, that way you can take out the thinner pieces first and let the thicker pieces cook a few more minutes – that way you don’t have overly dry or overly rare pieces!

Leave a Reply

