I think I’ll go to Boston

After a fun weekend in Boston it’s back to real life here in New York. I was visiting two of my best friends from law school for a girls’ reunion – one lives in the area and another flew up from New Orleans to escape the madness of Mardi Gras. Although I was only supposed to stay through Sunday evening, my flight home got cancelled due to a potential storm. In a completely unsurprising turn of events the weatherpeople and the airlines had all overreacted; less than an inch of snow was waiting to greet me when I did finally make it home. But it all worked out for the best – I rebooked my flight for Monday night and spent an extra day with my friends eating, drinking, shopping, and catching up. Even though we weren’t in New Orleans for Mardi Gras this year my body feels the way it used to after those marathon party weekends. I guess we’re not getting any younger…

A few highlights from my trip:

photo 4

Posing with the Make Way For Duckings ducks at the Boston Public Garden. The last time I did this was 3.5 years ago while visiting for a job interview. One of my friends pictured (the redhead) was present last time, too. Unfortunately in those previous pictures I was wearing a giant knee brace – not a cute accessory.

photo 1 (1)

Cheers at the Top of the Hub restaurant! Such a pretty view and they had an amazing lunch special – $25 for 3 courses.

photo 3

I cracked up at this sign! Also, it didn’t occur to me that it meant General Hooker as in military.

photo 5

Flight at the Harpoon Brewery. Eaten with a pretzel made of spent wheat. Both were delicious! We also visited the Sam Adams brewery, which I had been to before during my first trip to the east coast 5 years ago. But last time I was only 20 so I wasn’t able to take advantage of the tasting room!

Leave a Reply

