Best friend book club

When I was little I used to LOVE reading. Every week on Tuesday nights, after my piano lesson, my mom would take me to the library. During the summer we’d also go on random afternoons, and after picking out my books I would go to the adjacent park to play. As a kid my preference was for fiction (shoutouts to the Babysitters Club and Sweet Valley High!!), but I also enjoyed various non-fiction reading. For a long time I was very interested in outer space and wanted to be an astronaut when I grew up – I still remember exactly where the astronomy section in the library back home is even though I haven’t visited for many years. Today the idea of space travel terrifies me, especially after watching Gravity. If I were Sandra Bullock’s character I likely would have had a complete breakdown.

I stopped reading as much when I went to college. Between attending classes, occasionally reading for those classes, my part time job, and my devotion to drinking about 5 nights a week I had other priorities. Then when I got to law school I developed what can only be described as an aversion to the idea of reading for pleasure. For some reason, even though I didn’t spend that much time reading caselaw for class, I just couldn’t bear the idea of picking up a book that wasn’t required by a professor.

Now that I work instead of attending school I’ve rekindled my passion for reading. One of my best friends, Ashley, who now lives in LA loves books even more than I do. I don’t quite remember how we got started on this, but last year we decided to start sending each other books that we had finished and thought the other would enjoy. It costs less than $3 to ship a paperback across the country when you use media mail! This has proven to be a great way to ensure that our limited shelf space don’t get overcrowded with books and a nice way to share something when we are almost 3000 miles apart. Another outlet for my spare books is right in my apartment building. Two of our common areas have bookshelves where people regularly take and leave books, so it’s not just a great place to donate but also to pick up a new read. My most recent acquisition from the common bookshelves is this book that purports to answer a question I often ask myself.

So, why not share your favorite reads with your favorite friends? It’s easy, cheap, and fun to discuss!

Leave a Reply

