Chicken tortilla soup

It’s no secret that both Alex and I love Mexican food. Unfortunately for both of us I tend to be pretty snobby abut the quality of Mexican food here in New York. There is amazing food of almost every ethnicity here – Italian, Japanese, Greek, you name it – but I just haven’t been able to find good, authentic Mexican done the way it is back in California. Not to say that I haven’t found decent tacos and burritos here, but they usually leave me feeling a bit disappointed. I miss the quesadillas at Taqueria Ramiro & Sons in my hometown of Alameda, where we used to go for lunch in high school, and the Mission-style burritos at El Farolito in San Francisco, which I tried for the first time a few years ago. In college there was Freebirds for nachos at 2am and Super Cuca’s for a California burrito or nachos, either at 2am or hungover the next morning. And whenever I head to LA to visit my UCSB friends we hit up Don Antonio’s for tacos and margs.

As a result, we don’t usually go to Mexican restaurants when we eat out. Instead I cook a lot of Mexican-inspired dishes during the week. Not that I can claim my Mexican cooking to be super authentic, but at least I can keep my meals light and cheap when I’m making them at home, and they do as good of a job of satisfying my cravings as eating it out in NY. My favorite is making tacos, mainly because they are easy and can take any kind of meat, but I decided to switch it up a bit this week and bust out my crockpot to make some chicken tortilla soup. Given the continuing nasty weather I thought it would be a nice, comforting choice.

Chicken Tortilla Soup

  • ~1 lb boneless & skinless chicken breasts, cubed
  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can diced tomatos (peeled), undrained
  • 1 can diced tomatos with green chiles (RoTel), undrained
  • 1 can yellow corn, drained
  • 1 medium white onion, diced
  • 2 jalopeno, seeds and spines removed, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 32 oz organic chicken broth (I used Trader Joe’s)
  • Juice of one lime (I had one that looked like it was on steroids so I only used half)
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • .5 cup of fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 2 tsp Adobo seasoning (find this in the ethnic foods section of grocery stores)
  • 1.5 tsp ground cumin
  • 1.5 of chili powder
  • Tiny pinches of salt and pepper
  • Pinch of oregano

Put all ingredients into your crockpot and stir well. Cook on low for 6-8 hours. Garnish with warmed corn tortilla stripes, shredded cheese, sour cream, and sliced avocado. Yum!

Leave a Reply

